Reflections

A year ago today I was at my dad’s funeral.

A year ago today I was in a different relationship.

A year ago today I was best friends with a girl who prioritized seeing her boyfriend over seeing me in the wake of my father’s death.

A year ago today I was lost.

Today, I still grieve.  I’m in a new relationship that makes me incredibly happy.  I’ve finally gotten enough sense to cut ties with my supposed best friend, and I’m not lost.  I know who I am better than ever, and I am proud of myself.  After a year I am still in so much pain that sometimes I feel like the wind has been knocked out of me, but I also feel like a more whole, complete person.

Today, I know I can do anything.

Calton Hill, Edinburgh, Scotland

Tags: , , ,

Talk to Me!

