Waiting on a Night Bus

I’m sitting in an airport in Burlington, Vermont (if you’re wondering what’s in Vermont, the answer is maple syrup and, as far as I know, nothing else), waiting on my bus.  It’s 12:41 at the moment, and my bus is due at 4:15. AM.

Doesn’t that sound like fun?

Anyway, I figured I’d write some while I’ve got some time to kill.  Considering I’ve got pretty much all my valuables with me and there is no security here as far as I can see, I’m a bit wary of napping and am attempting to stay awake the whole time.  This doesn’t seem to have bothered the man asleep across three chairs right by me, but whatever.

I flew out to D.C. at 8:30 (it was supposed to be 7:45), got there, and had to go straight to the next gate to make my connection here.  The flight from D.C. to Burlington was kind of awful.  I got to my seat, which turned out to be a guy who appeared to be not that much older than me.  I thought this would be a good thing – surely he’d talk to me, right?   I love meeting people, and will talk to pretty much anyone.

Well, wrong.  He looked exasperated as I sat down, which was, as far as I can figure, completely unwarranted.  I mean, I know I’m not exactly the epitome of grace or anything, but I don’t think I was being THAT much of a bumbling fool.  I struggled with my jacket a little bit, pushed my backpack under the seat in front of me, and sat.  I said hi as I sat down (southern hospitality!) and he completely ignored me.  I mean, he had his headphones in, but he had to have realized I was acknowledging him.

So, I wrote this guy off as a dick and pretty much just ignored him for the rest of the ride.

It was a very bumpy ride, and not because of the jerk sitting beside me.  It was a rainy day today – hence the delay in my first flight – and as we were flying at night, the pilot couldn’t see well enough to avoid the clouds.  So there was probably the worst turbulence I’ve ever experienced.

Normally I enjoy a little bit of turbulence (I know, I’m weird), but this was actually really nerve-wracking.  All the people around me were visibly nervous.  I really wanted to talk to someone as a distraction – I knew reading wouldn’t be enough to distract me, but the guy beside me looked resolutely ahead.  I could tell he was anxious, as he had been watching movies on his iPod and stopped whenever we hit heavy turbulence.

The turbulence we experienced didn’t really freak me out too much – it was the fear that we might hit an air pocket and drop a hundred feet or something.  That sounds awful.  Or even that we would just crash.

And now a lady also waiting on the bus is chatting with me, which is nice.  She’s headed to Boston though, which means she’ll be leaving in an hour.  She’s nice, though.  She’s from the Ukraine originally.

And….now I feel used because she just casually dropped that she’s short $25 for her ticket and she’s praying that she gets it.  I feel bad for her, but at the same time I’ve heard enough horror stories to know better than to pull my wallet out when someone asks for money because they’re liable to take the whole thing.  I don’t think she’d do that, but I’d rather be safe. :/

I guess I’ll do the next Thirty Day Challenge.  I’m not so good at this anymore.

Something I have trouble with.

Since my last challenge was spent praising myself, I’mma go ahead and even that out a little bit.

I have trouble with letting things go.  I’m very stubborn, and I can argue to the point of ridiculousness because I’m too proud to give up.  Even when I realize I’m doing it, I find it very difficult to stop.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Talk to Me!

