…I Just Saw My Campers at School

That…was so strange.

So, I’m sitting in Carnia, minding my own business when I see a group of children.  That’s a little odd, since you don’t see that many children on campus, but groups come here on field trips occasionally.  Then I realized they were all wearing purple shirts…oddly familiar purple shirts.  I’m looking at these kids and…holy shit, is that Grant??!  Why yes, yes it was Grant.  It was a group of kids from the camp I worked at this summer, fieldtripping to my school.  I look up and yep, there’s my boss.  And there are two of my co-counselors from the summer and a guy I worked in the child-care center with.

And I’m wearing an unusually immodest (for me) dress that gives me cleavage and SHIT.  I mean, it comes down basically to my knees but just the fact that there’s perceptible cleavage isn’t awesome but whatever.  I go over and am like “OH MY GOD” and they’re like “OH HI!” and it was super crazy.

ANYWAY, Thirty Day Challenge Day Three!

A Book I Love

So, so, so many.  Anything by Orson Scott Card.  I love him.  Absolutely love.  He’s from North Carolina, which is awesome, and he’s absolutely brilliant.  His books provoke me to think like none other.  The book pretty much everyone would know by him is Ender’s Game.  What they may not know is that Ender’s Game is part of a series of ten (I think…he keeps coming out with more).  Ender’s Game is fantastic. I’ve read it four or five times and it never gets old.  But that’s not my favorite – I’d have to go with Ender’s Shadow.  This is a less conventional choice – most people who’ve read both prefer the former, but there’s something about taking a story and developing a character you barely noticed in the first book.

So, basically, if you don’t know, Ender’s Game is about a kid named Ender (duh) who’s training to destroy the buggers (aliens) in space-war (this is really not as lame as it sounds when I describe it.  It goes for any book though – it’s impossible to describe a book and make it seem as good as it actually is).  At the point when Ender finally gets his own squad in Battle School, it’s full of launchies (new arrivals) and he feels like the school is working against him.  Among those launchies is this really tiny kid named Bean.  He’s mentioned again later in the book and it’s clear that he’s crazy intelligent and gutsy and whatnot but you still know nothing about him.

Then Ender’s Shadow came out, and it’s all about Bean.  You learn that this character was an orphan on the streets of Rotterdam, barely surviving.  That he taught himself to read off of street signs.  That when he got to school he excelled through the classes faster than anyone else ever had and was basically a super-genius.  You learn how instrumental he was to much of the happenings in Ender’s Game, and you see Ender from someone else’s point of view.  It’s fascinating to me, although the fact that it’s less action-packed seems to deter much of the audience Ender’s Game draws in.

The funny this about this is that I would not consider myself a fan of sci-fi, although this clearly falls under that category.  It just so happens that my favorite author writes sci-fi, and I love his work.  I don’t read any other sci-fi – most of the other books I read are historical fiction.  He just makes his stories so accessible that it doesn’t seem strange.

Another book by him I absolutely love is Enchantment. It’s kinda a morph of fantasy and historical ficiton; its basic premise is basically Sleeping Beauty.  You learn about Russia in antiquity, about Russia’s folklore, myths, etc., and the protagonist, Ivan, awakes Sleeping Beauty in modern day and ends up going back to her time with her.  Very good book.

I mentioned before that I met Orson Scott Card once…he came to a comic strip store near campus, and I found out the day of.  I could barely believe it was real at first…I freaked out.  I almost cried, and then I waited in line two hours to get his autograph, and, although I planned to tell him that he was the first author to explain time travel in a way that made sense to me (in his book Pathfinder), I ended up instead blabbing that he was my favorite author and I’ve read fifteen of his books.  Smooth.

Anyway, I got his PERSONALIZED AUTOGRAPH Although for the sake of maintaining my privacy online I scratched out my real name and replaced it with my pseudo-name.  But yes, isn’t it lovely? That’s Orson Scott Card’s actual signature.  And I will cherish it forever.

Other books I love (by author): Phillipa Gregory (The Constant Princess, The Other Boleyn Girl, The Boleyn Inheritance), Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Shadow of the Wind), (Emily Bronte) Wuthering Heights, HARRY POTTER…so many.  Also, John Green is brilliant.  I’m really excited for his new book, coming out in January!

Talk to Me!

