Oh hey, Blogdom!

So. Um. Hi.

While in the shower a few weeks ago (I do my best thinking in the shower. Probably because I can’t be distracted by Facebook or Twitter) it occurred to me to start a blog.  Mostly this was out of a need to just vent sometimes, but really I think part of it was a little bit of an ego-trip.  I mean, I could just start a journal, but I had some notion that maybe the world would be interested in my life.

Which is really quite silly, when I think about it.  I mean, I don’t even know how anyone could find this.  I’m not telling anyone about it.

Anyway, the Internet, by some twist of my imagination, seems safer.  This is probably completely illogical, but considering my mother read all of my journals and poem books (note: I am a nerd) as a kid, I feel, for my life, it kinda makes sense.  Except for the fact that I’m at college and there’s almost no way my mom could get a hold of anything I write without me actually handing it to her.

Anyhoo, my idea basically was for a blog where I just write.  I know that seems unimaginably simple and whatever, but this means no re-reading (at least initially) and definitely no editing.  And no rules for how often to post or what to post or anything.

This may still seem silly, but you should know that I’m an English major, and the whole editing part will not be easy.

So, in case anyone actually happens upon this blog (I don’t know why you would), here’s a bit about me:
My name’s not really Amy.  I didn’t want to use my real name because the egocentric part of me worried about everyone being able to trace this back to me in case, in some freak occurrence, I developed a readership.  The name Amy doesn’t hold any significance to me, either.  It was a bit of a play off of “Honest Abe.”  Abe Lincoln doesn’t hold any significance to me either – it just seemed like a good (lame) idea for a blog.

So, now that I’ve got the obligatory introduction out of the way, I’m going to have at it.  And yes, I’m going to end this blog post and immediately write another.  Oh, that’s not how blogging works?  Well, another thing you should probably know about me is that I don’t necessarily do things right.  I just do what I do and sometimes it works.

By the way, I already broke my no-editing rule. This is going to be harder than I thought.

Talk to Me!

